2023 Results Are in – SBC Members Elect New Board Members

2022 Safer Buildings Coalition Board of Directors Election

Posted on Aug 24, 2023

The Safer Buildings Coalition 2023 Election for the Board of Directors is complete, and we are excited to seat our new Board of Directors. Congratulations to those elected!  

All candidates received considerable support – thank you for your participation!

Elected this year:

  • Vice President: Ron Schachter, RF Solutions
  • Treasurer: Scott McClure, Alliance Corporation
  • Secretary: Shelley DePuy, TowerIQ
  • At-Large: John Thompson, Mobile Communications America (MCA)

Changes coming to the current SBC Board: 

Thank you to outgoing Immediate Past President Dennis Burns of G-Way, who has completed three years of Board service!

  • Current SBC Board VP David Adams will become President of the Board.
  • Current SBC Board President Prince Niyyar will step into the role of Immediate Past President.
  • Current SBC Immediate Past President Dennis Burns completes his 1-year term and remains on the Past President’s Committee
  • Treasurer Ron Schachter completes his 3-year term (and is elected to the role of Board VP)
  • Secretary Richard Roberts completes his 2-year term
  • Current At-Large Office Scott Umemoto has fulfilled his extended term

"The Safer Buildings Coalition is thrilled to welcome David Adams as the new President of our Board of Directors. As a longtime Board member and outgoing Vice President, David has been a highly effective advocate for SBC’s core mission of eliminating in-building wireless dead zones. He has worked tirelessly to help the SBC to spread our message to key stakeholders while providing technical expertise for educational initiatives included within The Complete ERCES Handbook."

Chief Alan Perdue (ret.), Executive Director, Safer Buildings Coalition 

This is your 2023-2024 Board Lineup:

  • President: David Adams
  • Vice President: Ron Schachter, RF Solutions
  • Immediate Past President: Prince Niyyar, Commdex
  • Treasurer: Scott McClure, Alliance Corporation
  • Secretary: Shelley DePuy, TowerIQ
  • At-Large: John Thompson, Mobile Communications America (MCA)
  • At-Large: Josh Gerst, RF Connect


  • Ex-Officio Board Member: Seth Buechley, Cathedral Consulting
Past President's Council:


  • Chair: Eric Toenjes, Graybar
  • Dennis Burns, G-Way
  • Jeff Hipchen, RF Connect
  • Patrick Lau, Comba
  • Prince Niyyar, Comdex

Meet your New Board Members!

Vice President



Ron Schachter - Co-Founder - RF Solutions - Ron Schachter's Candidate Page


Scott McClure - Vice President - Alliance Corporation  Scott McClure's Candidate Page

“I am honored to have been elected Treasurer by the members of such a successful organization. I look forward to working with the other board members to build upon the strong legacy of education and advocacy in support of our communities and stakeholders.”

Scott McClure


Shelley DePuy - General Manager - TowerIQ   Shelley DePuy's Candidate Page


“I am excited and honored to serve as Secretary of the Safer Buildings Coalition and will put forth every effort to advocate for our members, first responders and the general public. Fire Safety has always been at the forefront of my life and the SBC is a great organization to share that passion with moving forward.”

Shelley DePuy



John Thompson - Vice President In-Building Wireless Solutions - Mobile Communications America (MCA) -  John Thompson's Candidate Page

“I am excited to be able to serve the Safer Buildings Coalition and support its mission to increase indoor safety for first responders and the occupants they serve. I look forward to working with this group of industry leaders and subject matter experts to make a difference.”

John Thompson